Everything you need to know about the 2022 Eurovision Song Contest

Hello Europe, this is Turin calling.

The Italian city will play host to the 2022 Eurovision Song Contest, following Måneskin’s victory at last year’s contest in Rotterdam.

While not all the acts have been decided – with the majority of countries having to qualify through the semi-final stages – already, the Eurovision 2022 odds appear to be in Ukraine’s favour.

While you grab your flags and gear up to hosting your very own Eurovision party, let’s run down everything you need to know about this year’s show.

When is this year’s final?

The final will take place on Saturday 14th May, with 25 countries participating. At this stage, we only know five of the finalists – the big five, who enter every year: France, Germany, Italy (the hosts), Spain, and the United Kingdom.

What about the semi-finals?

For the remaining countries – not yet confirmed as participants for the final show – two semi-finals will determine who will qualify. The first semi-final takes place on May 10th, with 17 countries hoping to secure their place in the final, while the second semi-final takes place two days later, with 18 countries in the running.

In both semi-finals, only 10 countries will go through to perform in the final show. The countries in the big five will also be a part of the judging panel.

Which acts are already confirmed?

As we mentioned, the big five are automatically in the final, and all five nations have decided upon their acts already.

  • France: Alvan and Ahez will be singing Fulenn, after winning Eurovision France, c’est vous qui décidez!
  • Germany: Rockstars will be sung by Malik Harris, who won Germany’s national selection, Germany 12 Points
  • Italy: 2019 act Mahmood is returning, this time with Blanco, and the duo will perform Brividi after winning the Sanremo Music Festival
  • Spain: Cuban-Spanish singer Chanel won Benidorm Fest and will be performing SloMo
  • United Kingdom: British singer-songwriter and TikTok star Sam Ryder will perform Space Man

Other than Italy’s entry, are there any returning performers?

Yes, there are four representatives that have previously performed as lead singers. As well as Mahmood, returning for Italy, Bulgaria, Moldova and Ukraine have acts in qualifying.

Stoyan Yankoulov is a member of Bulgaria’s Intelligent Music Project, and he previously represented the country in both the 2007 and 2013 contests. Zdob si Zdub previously performed for Moldova in 2005 and 2011. Iho Didenchuk represented Ukraine as a member of Go A last year, and this time will be performing as part of Kalush Orchestra.

And what about returning nations?

Following Russia’s expulsion from this year’s Eurovision Song Contest, there will be 40 countries participating – and all of those that entered last year’s contest have returned. There are also two countries which didn’t perform last year – Armenia and Montenegro. While both nations last took part in 2019, Armenia were scheduled to compete in the 2020 edition, before it was cancelled due to covid.

Who will be presenting this year’s show?

Almost as important as the acts themselves, the presenters on the night are often a talking point in their own right. This year, the three presenters are Italian TV presenter Alessandro Cattelan (formerly of X Factor), as well as Italian singer and winner of the Sanremo Music Festival, Laura Pausini, and Mika – who British viewers will be more familiar with.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *